The Flinn Gallery is a non-profit, education-oriented exhibition space that presents art in all mediums from a wide range of periods, visions and techniques. The Gallery Committee, comprised of over 50 volunteers, curates and mounts six (6) exhibitions a year from September through June. Each exhibition features an opening reception and related events. The Gallery attracts close to 10,000 visitors annually. Artwork is for sale and commissions help support the community programs of the Friends of Greenwich Library.
The Flinn Gallery is dedicated to presenting a diverse range of local, national and international artwork and related programs that visually and conceptually engage the public, collectors and artists in a mutually enriching cultural experience.
In 1928, a group of artists, some of whom were former members of the Cos Cob Art Colony, established an art gallery and moved their annual members’ exhibition to the Greenwich Library, which was at the time located on Greenwich Avenue. An impressive roster of exhibitions has been held annually since 1928. During World War II exhibits were suspended, as the space served the local community as a civil defense, first aid training and victory garden information center.
In 1960, when the Greenwich Library moved to its present site in the former Franklin Simon department store, the art gallery was located on the third floor. A library renovation in 1982 relocated the gallery to the second floor, where it was officially named the Hurlbutt Gallery, in honor of the longtime Head Librarian Isabelle Hurlbutt.
In 1999, a major addition to the library, designed by the renowned architect Cesar Pelli, established the gallery in its present location. At that time the space was renamed Flinn Gallery in recognition of its benefactors, Stephanie and Lawrence Flinn. The inaugural exhibit featured the Molly and Walter Bareiss Collection.